DSLRs or Digital Handycams? A Survey

Discusss your Cinematography hardware, Cameras, Lenses, Grip, Rigs etc here
Paramvir Singh

DSLRs or Digital Handycams? A Survey

Post by Paramvir Singh »

Dear all,
I am writing this letter amidst extreme hope that it will succeed in invoking a sense of interest in the reader about a research that I am involved in and their feedback would reciprocate the same. I am a senior lecturer of journalism and mass communication at IMS Dehradoon. I am trying to produce a research paper on comparative study of HD camcorders (low end professional e.g. Sony EX3) viz-a-viz video DSLRs (e.g. Cannon 5D MK 2) for the prestigious international journal of mass communication- PRAGYAN (ISSN No. 0974-5521).
Since you have pioneered this field and have substantial experience in using either or both the above mentioned gadgets, I humbly request you to take the following questioner to facilitate analysis of imperative data so that the inferences based upon the same can be drawn.

PLEASE WRITE AFFIRMATIVE OR NEGATIVE

Q: would you recommend video DSLR for shooting in a controlled environment if you have budget constraints?

Q: Would you recommend video DSLR for shooting in a controlled environment
if you don’t have any budget constraints?

Q: have you encountered focussing problems while using a video DSLR?

Q: If yes, were you able to overcome them with the help of any accessory?

Q: have you encountered jell- o problems while using a video DSLR?

Q: have you faced over heating problem while using a video DSLR?

Q: If yes, were you able to overcome it by any means?

Q did you get the desired result (image quality) using a video DSLR?

Q: were you involved in editing of the footage shot on video DSLRs?

Q: if yes, did you encounter any codec related issues?

Q: If yes, did it get negotiated to your satisfaction?

Q: Considering the budget factor, do you think Video DSLRs could be the future of filmmaking in India?